the toad that gave me goosebumps

Last weekend I awoke to great gifts. In my backyard there was the most stunning Roseate Spoonbill, the next day, Herons. This morning, well, I awoke to find the most beautifully-ugly toad that I’ve ever, EVER seen!

I had handy my Canon Rebel XS and despite this toads reluctance, I was able to capture him in all his strangeness.

Isn’t he striking?   How about those green eyes that sparkle and the warts that protrude off his back?!

To say he gave me major goosebumps is an understatement…. he terrified me – though he was more frightened of me than I of him.

I have never been so close to a toad before.  I hope the appearance of this toad today is the universe informing me that soon a prince will appear!  Hmmmm….isn’t that how the story goes?

6 thoughts on “the toad that gave me goosebumps

  1. Hahaha! …Skeered of a cute little ol’ toad! LOL!

    We have a resident toad in our rock garden. Every toad I have ever picked up loses its bladder all over me. 😕

    1. Oh my, you are a brave soul! I don’t think I could pick one up, though there’s much to admire in them, they scare me! eeeeek! But, I also think these “could” be the toads that are dangerous to dogs….I’m not sure, but there is a variety of toad that, if a dog licks or bites, it’s lethal to them…. Hope you had a lovely weekend!

  2. Andrea;

    I totally agree about touching a toad, even if he becomes a handsome prince.
    Your photos are amazing. You have many talents girl, that I hope people appreciate. Warts and all that toad is kind of cute.

  3. Weeeeezieeeeeeeeeee!

    So good to hear from you! Thank you for your feedback…LOL….I love photography with a passion! I think that toad is kinda cute, too, but only from a good distance!

    I hope all is well in your world….. I’ve been busy busy!

    (((hugs)))

  4. Thanks for letting me know that toads can be poisonous to dogs. My dog is a mouse catcher-I asked my husband if we could get rid of the cats and get another schnauzer but he nixed that idea…

  5. You’re very welcome. My mom tells me that this variety of toad is very lethal to dogs. It’s called Bufo Marinus, aka the Marine Toad. I just found some info on the variety of toad, and my mom was right…the toad on my patio is the Bufo – very dangerous. The ordinary frog is not dangerous, just the ole toad. LOL!

Leave a Reply

